Louisiana has 42 district courts, 46 city courts, and 3 parish courts.  Judges for each serve 6-year terms.

The judicial district courts have original jurisdiction over most matters within their district.  The city and parish courts have concurrent jurisdiction with the district court in their area, but only up to a certain amount (usually $5,000 to $20,000) in civil matters, and only over misdemeanors and ordinance violations in matters of criminal law 

The following is a comprehensive list of all Louisiana district and city courts, clerks of court, sheriff’s offices, constables, city marshals, and district attorney’s offices, organized by region and parish.  The list includes contact info and links to external websites:

Louisiana district courts map

The Louisiana Supreme Court is the highest court in the state of Louisiana.  Louisiana also has five intermediary courts of appeal called Circuit Courts, each covering a different group of Parishes.  The justices of the Supreme Court as well as the Circuit Courts are all elected officials who serve ten-year terms.

The Circuit Courts have appellate jurisdiction over all  civil matters, all family and juvenile court matters, and most criminal cases.  The Circuit Courts also have supervisory jurisdiction to review interlocutory orders and decrees matters before the district courts within their geographical circuits. The Louisiana Circuit Courts are able to review questions of fact and law in civil cases, but only questions of law in criminal cases.

Appeals from the Circuit Courts are brought to the Louisiana Supreme Court.  The Supreme Court also has exclusive appellate jurisdiction over certain matters, and has original jurisdiction over other narrow matters.

The following is a list of contact info and links for each of Louisiana’s courts of appeal:

Louisiana Appeal Courts

When a workers compensation claim is denied in Louisiana, the injured worker has the option to appeal the claim to Louisiana Workforce Commission’s  Office of Workers Compensation Administration (OWCA) where it is heard by an administrative law judge (ALJ).  The OWCA is divided into nine divisions, each of which covers a certain region of the state.  Appeals from decisions of the OWCA are filed in the Circuit Court of Appeal that has jurisdiction over the particular workers compensation district.

The administrative office of the OWCA can be reached at:

P.O. Box 94040
Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Telephone: 225-342-7970, 800-201-2499
Facsimile: 225-342-4790

The following is a list and contact info for each of Louisiana’s OWCA District Offices:

owca district offices